The Cordouan lighthouse

Partie-Phare-de-Cordouan2

CAP ROYAL owes its name to the Cordouan lighthouse, the oldest lighthouse in Europe.

A lighthouse steeped in history…

The mouth of the Gironde estuary has always had a bleak reputation. The perilous nature of this area led it to be known as a marine cemetery. Since ancient times, however, hermits traditionally lit fires for the sailors and prayed for their souls on the island of Cordouan…
Several edifices were built in the sea at the current location of Cordouan, before being recorded in any historical documents.

“La Tour aux Anglais”

A light tower was built around the year 1360, known as the “Tour aux Anglais”. The Black Prince (Edward Prince of Wales), head of the English armies who were occupying Guyenne at the time, ordered that the mouth of the Gironde be made secure. The original Cordouan lighthouse was therefore built, a 16 metre high polygonal tower with a platform from which a hermit was responsible for burning a nocturnal fire. The original lighthouse has evolved over the centuries to become the lighthouse we know today.

“Versailles of the sea”

It was classed as a historical monument in 1862, at the same time as the Notre-Dame cathedral in Paris, and is now listed as a Historical Monument. It is also a candidate for entry into the UNESCO World Heritage Site list in 2017.

The Cordouan lighthouse is one of a kind and its grand architecture has seen it become known as the “Versailles of the Sea”.

It was therefore known as the “King of Lighthouses” and the “Lighthouse of Kings”.

History of the lighthouse in 3D

Le phare de Cordouan

Partie-Phare-de-Cordouan2

CAP ROYAL doit son nom au phare de Cordouan, le plus ancien phare d’Europe

Un phare imprégné d’histoire…

Depuis l’Antiquité, l’embouchure de l’estuaire de la Gironde a funeste renommée. La dangerosité du lieu lui a fait gagner la réputation de cimetière marin. Pourtant, dès les temps anciens, la tradition signale la présence d’ermites qui allumaient des feux pour les navigateurs et priaient pour leurs âmes sur l’îlot de Cordouan…
Plusieurs édifices se seraient dressés dans la mer à l’emplacement actuel de Cordouan avant que des documents historiques ne l’attestent.

« La Tour aux Anglais »

Vers 1360, une Tour à Feu est reconstruite, surnommée « Tour aux Anglais ». Le Prince Noir (Edouard Prince de Galles), chef des armées anglaises qui occupent la Guyenne, ordonne de sécuriser l’embouchure de la Gironde. Le phare primitif de Cordouan émerge alors, c’est une tour polygonale de 16 mètres de haut, surplombée par une plate-forme sur laquelle un ermite était chargé d’alimenter un feu de bois nocturne. Au fil des siècles, le phare primitif évolue pour arriver jusqu’à nous dans sa forme actuelle.

« Le Versailles de la mer »

Classé monument historique dès 1862, en même temps que la cathédrale Notre-Dame de Paris, il est aujourd’hui classé Monument Historique et candidate pour être classé au Patrimoine Mondial de l’UNESCO en 2017.
Son architecture grandiose fait du phare de Cordouan le “Versailles de la mer”, un phare unique au monde.

Il était alors surnommé « Roi des Phares », « Phare des Rois ».

L’histoire du phare en 3D